Winners of ‘Independent Lab of the Year 2005’

The award for the ‘Independent Lab of the Year’ international competition for independent optical laboratories promoted by Transitions Optical was presented at the ‘Musée de Vin’ in Paris on October 20.

Presented by Brett Craig, Managing Director & General Manager of Transitions Optical Emea (Europe, Middle East, Africa), the award went to the De Ceunynck Laboratory, an established professional facility in Belgium.

Open to countries in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, from December 2004 to August 2005 this competition of excellence involved a selected group of qualified independent laboratories. They were judged on such parameters as the spread and promotion of Transitions lens technologies, the creation of co-marketing initiatives, the promotion of training activities, and the development of educational projects on prevention, protection and vision wellbeing.

Twelve independent laboratories representing six countries presented the results of their activities to an international jury of nine people.

The prize for the winner consisted of four, full-page advertisements in a professional publication of the relevant country in which the winner can present itself to the market. In addition, for a whole year the laboratory will be able to use the ‘Independent Lab of the Year’ logo on its communication material; the same logo will be used by Transitions Optical in various communications throughout the year.

As well as the 2005 ‘finalist’ countries (UK, France, Belgium, Germany, Poland, Czech Republic), many laboratories from other countries, including Italy, stated that they were interested in taking part in the 2006 edition which is already being organized.