Zyloware Honored With Westfair Communications Award for Family-Owned Business

Zyloware Eyewear announced it is an honoree of Westfair Communications’ Family-Owned Business Award. The annual award, hosted by the publisher of the Westchester and Fairfield County Business Journals for its sixth year, honors leaders who built businesses in Westchester and Fairfield counties and kept them in the community as well as the family. “We are incredibly grateful to receive this award,” said James Shyer, Zyloware Co-CEO and COO. “For over 96 years, Zyloware and the Shyer family have been dedicated to providing the community with high-quality, affordable eyewear, striving to help as many people as possible see a beautiful day, every day.”


In 2010 Zyloware moved its corporate headquarters to its current state-of-the-art facility in Port Chester, N.Y., where it increased its square footage and transformed the company from an eyeglass frame manufacturer to the global eyewear supplier it is today. The company’s co-CEOs Christopher and James Shyer were raised in Westchester County, and were honored by the opportunity to bring the company “home.” Zyloware was originally founded in Long Island City, N.Y. in 1923 by Joseph Shyer. Today, Zyloware is over 20 years into its third generation of family stewardship, and remains an independent, privately held company.

“Zyloware is the oldest family-owned and operated optical frame supplier in the U.S.,” said Christopher Shyer, Zyloware co-CEO and president. “Our rich heritage and history makes us unique and has allowed us to provide exceptional attentiveness to our customers, as well as unrivaled dedication to our industry.”

Henry Shyer, chairman of Zyloware added, “At Zyloware, we see all our employees and partners as part of our extended family. I am proud we are receiving this award in recognition for the work we do to extend our mission to the broader community.”

The company will be honored at Westfair Communications’ award ceremony on March 5 at 1133 Westchester Ave. in White Plains. Fellow award recipients will include Raymond Opticians, Stew Leonard’s and JANUS Associates.